tshirt fail

so you know those awesome shirts we printed and sold for $6 at our rally? it has come to my attention that the ink is washing out of some of them. we used two types of ink this year, speedball, which i have used in the past, and a new brand called permaset. the company that sold me the permaset ink guaranteed me that it needed to be ironed when dry, and would then be permanent for life.

I am extremely embarassed at the thought that we may have sold defective shirts, so if you have a shirt that was printed on with either bright red, blue, or black ink, please do not wash it yet. give me a few days to get ahold of the permaset company and find out how to permanently set the ink so it doesnt wash out.

i apologize profusely to anyone who may have already washed a shirt printed with this ink.

tshirt fail

it happens. I print shirts for a living, and I am still find out something else i'm doing wrong with every job. If you didn't have the patience for serigraphy, you probably wouldn't have the patience for mopeds.

Re: tshirt fail

Who do you work for? Do you have automatics? I contract out about 50000 prints a month and might be able to float some stuff your way if you could handle it...

I work for myself, we print the old-fashioned way (with a little bit of the poor way sprinkled in).

What kind of prints are you contracting out? 50000 a month... would probably kill me. Right now we just do small orders for bands, we also partner with artists and do limited numbered runs of a custom design, hopefully we'll have a website soon, right now I just sell them out of my trunk at shows.

here's my favorite shirt we are currently selling:

MOPED kids don't wash their clothes... Silly.

I didn't wash mine yet, and even if there is no way to set the ink, I can always mount it and put it in a frame. 6 dollar art!

Heat Curing of Permaset

I got this info from here: http://www.colormaker.com.au/Permaset/Permaset

Heat setting is absolutely imperative.