What size jet?

Hey guys,

What size jet should you use? It's my understanding that it all depends on weather and such... but is there a general range that should work for summer riding?

Thanks

Mark

Re: What size jet?

oh, and what does it mean to "upjet". Is an example of upjetting going from a size 60 to a size 70? What size is stock?

I.R.E. Mike Pee /

Upjetting is going up in jet size. So yes, 60 to 70 is upjetting, but that's a pretty big leap.

For us to tell you about what jet you will need, you need to give us more details. What kind of bike/engine, what size and type of carb, kind of air filter, kind of exhaust.

hey, you need to let people know what kind of bike you have, then they may be able to help you.

Thanks, sorry I'm a bit new to this but I'll get the hang of it.

I have a Puch Newport 1978. It's real beat up but its comin back baby! I don't know what size jet is in there now, but I've cleaned it about 6 times. What jet comes stock with that bike (assuming it _is_ stock).

I also did a search and apparently what I want to do is buy a couple jets and do plug chops to see what kind works best in my given area.

Only problem there is I need to have a running moped to do a plug chop, I'm trying to order parts (chains, fuel filter, probably some gaskets) might as well get jets too. What sizes are pretty standard for a Puch Newport 1978 in the new england (vermont) summer? Oh, its a one speed engine (e50 i think) with your stock exhaust (the one on themopedjunkyard.com)

Thanks

Oh and its a stock bing carb. Stock air filter.

The size of the jet is stamped into the side of the jet, it's real tiny, you'll have to look real close to see it.

What size Bing carb? There should be some numbers stamped into the carb, let us know what those are. It's probably a 12mm or 14mm carb.

You're probably looking at jets in the 50-60 range, but if you get it all cleaned up and running and it's all stock parts, the stock jet that's already there should work fine.