tools?

Tyrone Biggumss /

since im new to mopeds im not 100% sure what tools i should carry around while riding my moped in case anything happens..

i only ride it like 10-15 miles a day (on a good day) and was wondering what can happen and what tools should i tote along.

i have a tomos streetmate no modifactions expect rear sprocket changed to 22 toothed.

Re: tools?

a 10 lb sledge hammer,

mapp gas,

rivit gun.

The best thing to do is find out what size screws and bolts are on your ped. You really don't need to carry a full toolbox, just the ones that you need. Boy, that was a profound statement. Look in the wiki, I believe someone put up a good list.

What I found that works well is to try and work on your ped with your travel tools only. That way, you find the ones you need and keep only those and not a bunch of useless extras.

It didn't take long to figure out the bare minimum, which fit quite nicely under my seat (oil tank removed).

Tyrone Biggumss /

buimp

The main tools you need to carry are tools to remove and replace the wheels, and to remove the tires from the wheels and put them back. Carry a small bottle of Windex, new tubes, a patch kit, and Slime. And a pump, capable of actually airing up a moped tire. If your moped is in good condition (check it often for problems) a flat tire is by far your most likely problem. Those same tools can be used to adjust the chain. And by all means remove your oil injection system. If that fails (extremely likely but not an absolute certainty), all the tools in the world will not help you, you will need a truck, and some expensive repair parts.