Moped vs Scooter

Roger Vallve /

I currently own a 2001 Tomos Targa. I was thinking of switching to a scooter. any insight into the pros and cons of a scooter vs moped.

Thanks

Re: Moped vs Scooter

prepare to get some heavily-biased, overly mean responses.

go for it, scooters are awesome.

there both cool i like scooters just because they get good gas mileage and if you get a good one you can get 60+ mph easy but small tires is kind of annouying, mopeds are cheap and great gas mileage and you can speed kit them and shit

there pretty equal imo but im no expert

scooters also usally have more plastic looking materials.

if you get a good one you can get 60+ mph easy

Warning the above statement is total bullshit.

there's about the same amount of plastic,

and scooters have the purty lil wheels, and baskets to carry your soccer ball.

<object width="400" height="342">

<param name="movie" value="http://3x3m.com/files/diego/diego_mopedcrash.swf">;

</param>

<embed src="http://3x3m.com/files/diego/diego_mopedcrash.swf"; type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="400" height="342">

</embed>

</object>

Moped vs Scooter

Scooters are rad. Tomos is rad too. Every bike has its purpose. I guess first I'd ask you some sales questions:

What is the primary purpose of this bike?

What types of roads do you ride on?

How big of a bike were you lookng for?

How much are you looking to spend?

Would you like something with a warrenty?

Vintage or brand new?

What kind of scooter were you thinking about switching to? If you're looking at one of those $799 online scooters or something similar, you're much better off keeping your Targa. If you're thinking something like a Honda, Yamaha, Vespa, or one of the other high-quality manufacturers, then you might benefit from trading out.