cold air = lean?

I took my moped out for a run today, since it was sunny out and seemed like a nice day to go out. So i bundled up and the 'ped started right up. I let it run for a few minutes, and it seemed to be idling fine...but when i started riding it around, the acceleration became kind of erratic. I know colder air = more oxygen..so is it possible that the colder air is making the mix too lean? Because if i would stand in one spot for a while..it seemed to level out a bit..

I never had this problem in my car, but then again my carb wasnt exposed to as much air as a moped would be...

Just wondering if anyone knew?

thanks

--Nick

RE: cold air = lean?

Ron Brown /

Nick,

Cold air = rich, I think, because high altitude = lean.

You do not mention the temperature, but the most likely problem is condensation or icing in the carburetor caused by the additional cooling effect of gas evaporation. Standing still allows engine heat to warm the carb.

If you can rig it, some cars get around this problem by directing warm air from the exhaust manifold to the air intake. I imagine that the cylinder fins would also be warm enough. You may even be able to fashion an air funnel around the carb to warm up the outside of the carb with engine heat.

Good luck,

Ron