new have some questions

manny gouveia /

1st off thanks to all replies in advance.

I jjust picked up a moby 1980 it doesnt start ,seller says no spark and supplied a new CDI I have not installed yet! Before I start tinkering with it I would like to find out what kind of shape the engine is in can someone tell me what compression I should have? Its a 50V I believe. I did a compression on it and only came up 25lbs.

The frame is in great shape and wouldnt have a problem putting some money into it.

I guess my ulitimate goal would be to have it cruise at around 35 mph

.I am totally new to this Motobecane thing but have twisted wrenches for some time. thanks

moped.jpg

Re: new have some questions

Moped Lar (OFMC) /

Compression should be In the 120 psi ballpark.

Pushrod Fifty /

Your gauge must be leaking at the plug hole or your rings are stuck from sitting but worse case you have 90, anything less than that, the bike would have been a bitch to start. I would fix the stock ignition first, just because irs simple and you can go by the downloadable manual and good advice here from the Moby gurus, unless you have experience with electronics and engine timing...i.e. youve done it before.

Hi manny and welcome to the forum.

I am having the same problem with a 77 Peugeot LVS-U3 that is only getting 60psi

I found a conversion formula if you know the compression ratio of your moby.

I is on the moped army wiki page basically it is multiplying the compression ratio by atmospheric pressure. and as far as the lack of pressure on the cyl, it could be a number things like head gasket, worn piston rings, decompression valve leaking (if you have one) worn cylinder all the things i mentioned i had except the decompression valve. And i still have the problem with the low compression.

Hope this helps.

@ manny,

Oh and by the way nice looking moby!

Is the decomp stuck open? BEAUTIFUL bike. Have you tested for spark? (edited)

manny gouveia /

thanks for the quick replys folks!