Cimatti gran prix xl

Hello, new here. I just picked up a 1978 cimatti grand prix xl moped from a neighbor for $25. I'm completely new to mopeds and had some questions I hoped someone could help with.

1. Any manuals for my moped? ('78 cimatti grand prix xl)

2. Any general riding guides (stuff like starting a moped, how to fuel a two-stroke engine, what all the general switches and buttons do, etc.)

I would appreciate any help as I'm a total rookie. Stuff on Youtube hasn't helped much, on the fundamentals at least, so if anyone could link me to good videos that would be much appreciated too. Thanks in advance!! (pic isn't my bike, mine's a lot rattier, but same make/model/year)

cimatti.jpg

Re: Cimatti gran prix xl

wha-

only twenty. five. american. dollars?!?!

giphy-50.gif

welcome!

(EDIT: i thought THAT was your bike you snagged.) (edited)

Jimmy Cincinnati /

The good news is you got a rare bike for cheap that uses a very common engine! Mineralli V1's are one of the best built moped engines and stuff is pretty common. Ill let others chime in but nice score! Post some pics up so we can see.

Also, Treatland.tv is your best place to get parts.

Pushrod Fifty /

Once in a lifetime score in the moped realm.

Emil Kniemel /

Not specific to your moped but you will probably find these videos helpful:

Thanks for all the help! Here's some pics of her!

I tried starting with no luck. I ordered a deep impact socket wrench and a new NGK B6HS spark plug and try starting again. The clutch is barely moving when I try kicking the thing over, I'm guessing that means new clutch? Or is it something else?

20200413_152211.jpg
20200413_152224.jpg
20200413_152258.jpg

when I say "clutch" i guess i mean flywheel? Its the black "fan" thing on the left side of the engine. That's barely moving when I kick the bike over.