Moped Identification please help

Daniel San Julian /

Hi my name is Daniel, I am new to mopeds and engines in general, I have a Puch Maxi that has been sitting and I'm not sure which model Maxi, if anyone could help me identify so I could begin some repair and research I'd greatly appreciate it!

It was manufactured in 10/76 according to the stamp and the serial number is 8442505. The speedometer says a maximum of 30mph.

Re: Moped Identification please help

August Adams-Miller /

post a photo if you can

Rand Jacobson /

A picture will go a lot further than the year and vin number. Model doesn't matter a ton as long as the sticker says 1.5 or 2 hp. If it says 1hp it's not a big deal but it will always be slow until you swap out the cylinder.

You also need to determine which engine it is. E50 or ZA50. If it's a za50 it will say PUCH real large on the side of the engine.

Daniel San Julian /

I have included a basic image here

IMG_7797.jpg

That's an e50 motor. You can tell what horsepower rating you had based on the numbers stamped into the carburetor and cross-referencing the moped wiki page about Bing carburetors

Daniel San Julian /

Thank you for the help! I really appreciate it!

No problem, it's worth noting that you have a pretty early model based on the handlebar design. You might want to convert to the standard handlebar setup if you decide to ride this bike regularly.

Daniel San Julian /

Thank you that's good to know, what would converting to the standard setup consist of?

Daniel San Julian /

Also if you happen to know by any chance, the last I had worked with it a little it was not sparking, and the plug is definitely wet, would you know how to fix this?

https://www.mopedarmy.com/wiki/Puch_handlebar_repair : "get a handlebar, clamps and the triple tree top plate from a newer Puch and change over to this system. Sometimes Treats has all of the required bits"