Looking for my First

New to all this moped stuff, but excited to get into it soon. I have my eyes on a few options in the area. Would appreciate some advice:

This is my favorite, but a little far away, not sure how I'd transport it: https://www.facebook.com/marketplace/item/1887192644759335/

I've heard mixed things about Batavus mopeds in terms of upgradeability and easy of use, but since I'm a beginner, not sure I'll be doing that much upgrading:

https://www.facebook.com/marketplace/item/356100001935823/

Similar story about Garelli:

https://www.facebook.com/marketplace/item/517908822097694/

Any thoughts before I pull the trigger on one of these?

Thanks!

Re: Looking for my First

Congrats on researching before purchasing. Many fail to do that.

If I had to choose between the three, it would be the Garelli all day. Its in very nice shape and the best price. The Puch has an abomination Honda motorcycle front wheel, fender and forks. Batavas is cool if you're from Holland and your name is Goldmember. (edited)

Dirty30 Dillon /

First moped:

Maxi, 100%. And I really don't care for Maxi's at all.

If you don't like the real hydro suspension and disk brake, you are a loon, but you could always swap to standard maxi gear with someone else's take-offs.

Batavus is slow and underwhelming.

Garelli is plagued with crumby rubber clutches.

Eric Swartout /

Good to know! Thanks! I can deal with slow, but I can't deal with unreliable. I think I'll more into the Maxi.

Slow gets hard to deal with after a bit, getting run off the road sucks, just something to think about unless you live in the boonies, traffic really moves these days, and you better keep up. Puch, were it my choice, and I don't like them, but tons of parts to get them going realistic speeds.

RZ Namllow /

Get the puch. Put ebr forks on and dont look back

> RZ Namllow Wrote:

> -------------------------------------------------------

> Get the puch. Put ebr forks on and dont look back