How pricey is this hobby?

Hey everyone! I’m new to the hobby. I am 18 and a senior in high school so money is obviously tight. Before I dive in and buy a bike (which I have already gotten a lot of good advise on), how expensive is this hobby? Like how much do you think I can get a decent working moped for? I don’t care if I have to work on it I have time to spend but not so much on the money side. I don’t need a rare or even a moped in great condition, just one that I can ride and work on when I have time. Thank you!

Re: How pricey is this hobby?

Obviously buy the best you can afford, but usually factor in things like new tyres, brake shoes and a full face helmet. Try not to buy someone elses non runner project that "just needs a carb tune". Just try to find a strong runner, that is in good condition.

$500 should start you out safely with a run of the mill bike.

Look up the laws in your state. Possibly money for plates, insurance, license etc. depending on your state.