My Motobecane Adventures

So I’m diving into the Motobecane world. I’m starting with this 1978 model 50V. It supposedly runs, but I haven’t tried starting it yet. I’m no stranger to mopeds, I have 13 in my collection. But I am new to French mopeds. This Motobecane is part of a five bike lot I picked up last week. I’ve been reading in the wiki about them, and also on some of the threads in the forums. But I’ve still got a lot to learn about them. What are the most important things I should know? You know, the “don’t do that” things or the “you need to know this before you do this” kind of stuff. Maybe like the top five Motobecane do’s and don’ts would be really cool. It has a Dellorto clone carburetor. I’m going to keep reading up on ‘er and tinkering on it in the meantime, while y’all think about your responses. Here’s a couple pics. If you see something that looks out of sorts, point it out to me please. Everything seems fine to me visually, other than missing side covers. Thank you for your advice.

image.jpg
image.jpg

Re: My Motobecane Adventures

Get extra exhaust crush gaskets. Safety wire the exhaust manifold nut. Replace ht coil. Replace condenser and route it outside of the cover. Tighten fork with 32mm socket.

I put 3k miles in a summer like that. Also, I welded the freewheel mode lock since its a failure point.