1980 Tomos A3 Bullet won’t go into neutral and shakes

Hello, I’m brand new to mopeds and picked up a 1980 tomos bullet the other week. The guy before me didn’t ride it too much and it’s overall in good shape. The only issues I’ve been having with it is after riding it, it seems like it’s not going back into neutral so then after about 5 seconds it will die. I’m assuming it’s still in first gear and it will take a while to start back up again since it is still in 1st. I am eventually able to get it back into neutral but it only does about 40-50% of the time.

The other issue is when taking off into 1st gear it will shake (I think coming from the case) and it also does it mostly when I’m coming to a stop as well. So basically 0-5mph and 5-0mph. Other than these, it rides very smooth and shifts into 2nd smoothly as well. The power all seems to be there too. I changed the oil with 10w-30 oil and it wasn’t too noticeably different. new gaskets just came so I will take the cover off and inspect the gears/clutch shoes but I’m hoping it’s just the clutch shoes are worn or something like that. I don’t have much experience with these yet so I’m just wondering if anyone has had a similar issue. I found many forums with either shaking or it dying but most of the shaking ones I’ve read don’t seem to be super similar to mine.

Thanks!

Re: 1980 Tomos A3 Bullet won’t go into neutral and shakes

There is no “neutral” position on a moped with an automatic transmission. Sounds like your idle is too high and is engaging your 1st speed clutch. (edited)

Drain and replace transmission fluid. Hopfully you don't have any metal bits or cork chunks. Really small (much smaller than sand) things are normal-ish.

Paul Smith /