Farthest pedal?

This weekend I joined in our 20th annual booze cruise Grand Teton No Motor ride. The National Park opes the roads for a few weeks to non-motorized travel while the snow still melts off major trails. This means it's full of bikes. This is a word of mouth event every year and people wear costumes and bring kegs in baby carriages. This year I decided to pedal my Puch. I'm in pretty good shape, but the total length turned out to be 9 miles round-trip instead of what I thought was about a 6-7 mile round trip.

I wasn't worried about lagging behind, and most of my friends thought the irony of my Puch on the "no-motor" ride was great.

What's the farthest you've ever had to pedal either out of necessity or for fun?

_20190428_133834.JPG

(edited)

Re: Farthest pedal?

Two miles, I rode my Vespa to the motorcycle shop to order a tube. It would not start when I went to leave. I am a noob , it was my first time cranking that ped. Probably won't be the last.

kevin Smellaflange /

the moby has a sweet velo option...

prolly 'bout 1/2 mile...ran out of gas & had it already on reserve, i was 14 years old & that was the only time.

Teton's been there a few times....2 miles on a tomos...4 miles on a puch. I find walking them a little easier. 8 miles walking one. If I'm to far out, and cant fix it, and the wife is not riding with me, I call the wife to get me. I would never pedal my Italian bikes ever! I can walk faster :) Hold up, my vespa grande pedals well, but I've never had to. (edited)

Probably Fred /

Yeah you did right by disconnecting the drive chain on you otherwise you can’t pedal it much at all because it spins the tranny/tranny parts with chain being connected

Alexandro Ramirez-Nagy /