A35 or A50?

Hello! First post i just joined today! Sorry in advance, please be patient I'm new to mopeds and engines. I bought this tomos to fix up and make my daily rider to work and into town.

I cant tell what engine it has though. There's 4 screws from the intake to the engine. The silver part of the engine says a3 and the black part says a52. Hopefully this is a good starting point.

Also is the lx and Targa lx the same thing? This has been confusing me.

Ps , there's no carb cuz I'm cleaning it at the moment

20190320_174336.jpg
20190320_174345.jpg

Re: A35 or A50?

I have read some posts on this but every one has a different opinion.

Brandon Weiss (Detective brandon to you) /

Welcome! That's an A35 engine you have there. The "A52" identifies the case, which can be either A55 or A35. You can read all about Tomos here:

https://www.mopedarmy.com/wiki/Category:Tomos

Edit: Upon closer inspection, that appears to be the original 50cc cylinder, not an aftermarket! Zoomed in a bit to see it.

In addition, your exhaust is missing the baffle, which you probably want to replace. (edited)

Thank you so much! I've been looking everywhere for all of that info in link!

Yes, Targa LX and LX are both the same. Tomos has to drop the Targa name because Porsche owns the rights to it. You also have an A35 engine too. (edited)

Also referred to as the TTLX.

So many names lol

I'm gonna be taking the engine apart to clean and accssess the damage tomorrow. it sounds like brake cleaner is my best bet? Also im removing all the lights. can I just cut the wires at the source and tape the nub or will that mess with the eletric some how?

I'm assuming the brake cleaner and clipping the wires will work?

Don't snip the wires. There are connectors, you just have to unplug them.

> Matt Turner Wrote:

> -------------------------------------------------------

> So many names lol

>

> I'm gonna be taking the engine apart to clean and accssess the damage