Honda Hobbit

Whats up guys,

Picked up this Honda Hobbit over the weekend for $50, The engine turns freely, but the guy had no idea if it runs, ive gotta pick up the replacement keys from treats, or just bypass it if thats a better option? Gonna do a tear down first and get the frame all prettied up. no title so ill have to do the vermont deal as i did on my magnum.

this is my first build so its really more of a learning experience for me but i am both stoked and intimidated to go in on it. the idea was to lure on of my buddies into doing the Gettysburge rally with me, since he doesnt have a ped. that or the girlfriend will come ( its my first meetup and i dont really wanna ride solo).

Neil (ibuiltrome) hooked me up HUGE on the magnum and that got me hooked. so i hope to learn from you guys and see you at some rallies!

20190216_141028.jpg

Re: Honda Hobbit

Hobbits came in two versions:

Early red ones were 20 mph capable

Yellow ones were 30mph capable.

If I recall correctly, at the end of production, the red ones were also 30mph rated. But, if I am wrong, I am sure that someone will chime in with the correct info.

The nameplate on the headstock should show whether the bike is a

PA50I (20 mph version) or PA50II (30mph version)

Mike

Brandon Weiss (Detective brandon to you) /

I think the red/white ones were pa50i, and all the solid colors were pa50ii...if i remember correctly.

A quick google search says solid red were from 81'- 82', and that pa50i were discontinued after 79'. (edited)

think the red/white ones were pa50i, and all the solid colors were pa50ii...if i remember correctly.

78-79 red = pa50I, yellow = pa50II

i think if it has turn signals it should be a later model?

talk to maize about getting that seat recovered, he's really good at those hobbit seats.

https://www.mopedarmy.com/riders/maize/