Honda Hobbit not Starting

Andrew Leone /

I'm new to mopeds in general (quite frankly, new to working on any type of engine except for the occasional carb cleaning).

So, I purchased a 78 honda hobbit that wasn't/isn't running.

I first replaced the carb and the reed valves.

Checked for spark (there is spark).

Checked compression (I get about 100 psi reading both opened throttle and closed).

Fuel is getting to the carb (I checked the bowl).

I sprayed starter fluid into the air intake and does not do anything.

I sprayed starter fluid into the chamber, replaced the spark plug and it fired but would not do anything more.

I removed the muffler thinking perhaps it was clogged up and not allowing air flow, still not starting.

It seems to me that air is not being sucked through the carb as I do not feel any fuel on the spark plug when I remove it.

I then replaced the piston and rings because why not and seemed like fun at the time.

No change.

I put the muffler back on and still no change (compression still at 100 psi).

What should I do next (yes, i realize I'm opening myself to a witty joke or two).

Re: Honda Hobbit not Starting

Points clean and gaped right? Timing right?

Replaced the carb with what?

Andrew Leone /

Replaced the carb with a new carb.

If it were the carb, it should still fire when I sprayed into the air intake right?

Andrew Leone /

No, I did not. It's getting spark so shouldn't that indicate that that the points are at least ok?

Timing: I didn't touch the timing. Could it be that far off that it won't at least fire?

Dirty30 Dillon /

Turn the motor over with a drill and I bet it starts.

This sounds like your replacing everything while you just can't start via pedals

Dirty30 Dillon /

You can't "time" a stock hobbit. The stator is fixed in place.

Andrew Leone /

Interesting, I'll give it a shot.

Keep in mind, I can get 100 psi compression and spark with peddling. Is that not satisfactory?

Dirty30 Dillon /