Got my Sachs yesterday (63 miles)

Eric DeSachs /

C39E3CBA-60B2-43E0-806B-7D3EE3C305AB.jpeg

I’m completely new to the moped world, so I’m still diving into the wiki and many other things before I ask a million questions. But I got my 1980 Sachs 505/1D. This was a part of a bigger deal that fell through; but I still ended up with the Sachs for all of the trouble I went through.

Here’s a second shot with the original saddlebags attached.

96023D3E-D555-4C2A-BEA7-559343A231EE.jpeg

This moped was seen in these forums a while back I believe by another user. It was on display at a store; and only had 63 miles on the odometer.

I did notice a few cosmetic issues; (there is a crack in the odometer plastic housing, and then another piece of plastic where a license plate would go was cracked. Otherwise it looked ok to me.

I noticed I am missing the key for the gas tank. I’m sure I can get one somewhere. The gas tank seemed a bit rusty on the inside; so I’ll clean that out with the help of the WIKI. I’ll likely grab a new petcock as well. And then I’ll go through the steps to get it fired up and going. Look forward to chatting with you guys and getting some help to get this on the road. Not looking to mod or make it faster. Just want to keep it as is for now.

Re: Got my Sachs yesterday (63 miles)

What a GREAT top-tank! Congrats! don-ohio (:^)

Cool score!

Nice bike!

There is a clown on craigslist in Ohio that has about three G3s for 1500-2000$ each & not nearly as nice as yours. Congrats on a legit deal!

Eric DeSachs /

I just got to get it going so I can get the full experience! Hope to tinker with it a bit in the upcoming days.

Anyone know where I can get a key for the gas tank cover?

Petcock: anyone got a link for one that will work; or should I disassemble this one to try to clean it?

I’ll work through Fred’s Guide to see if I have spark and everything after I take the tank off and clean it up a bit.

Bad Cadillac™ /

Nice! Congrats!