15:15 vs. 16:16, Let's talk about that.

Let's talk about the Dellorto15mm and the 16mm SHA. Do you have a preference? Does it matter? I mean... 1 millimeter diffrence!? But alas, they exist so there has to be pros and cons.

So lets talk about it.

20171027_110007.png
20171027_105937.png

(edited)

Re: 15:15 vs. 16:16, Let's talk about that.

Brandon Weiss (Detective brandon to you) /

i hear the 16 is more finicky somehow.....at least the new ones.

154mm^2 vs 177mm^2 inlet area

I personally havent been able to tell the difference between the two, but each one was on a different bike.

honestly I always went with 15's.

why? intakes.

Almost all the intakes are sized to 15 anyway. As a result I've got no real experience with the 16's except having run a 16 on a 15 intake, which unsurprisingly was not as good as a 15 on a 15 intake...

probably where the "finicky" reports come from too.

"just running undersized intakes and it's not behaving as i'd like so i'll call it finicky."

Captain Janeway /

This is where we need CW or a couple of other guys to chime in with theory.

Probably Fred /

I like the 15mm sha way better than 16mm especially on piston port kits for the bigger the bore size is in a carburetor the smaller diameter atomizer needs to be for a finer spray mist to fill the whole bore in the carburetor and a sha doesn’t have normal replaceable atomizer and needles like a normal carburetor does.

For easier starting and easier jetting for me the 15mm gets the nod but on some French bikes the 16 mm sha seems to work OK,

I like the the 14mm bing over a larger15mm bing on pp kits (due to easier to start and and jet) too though on reed kits the 15mm bing rules

>>>taykoff [s2m] /

I've not tried either...I always just bore out my 14.12's to 15.15's using Graham's tutorial, so I haven't needed to buy one.

Woolfardisworthy bullfardisworthy /