Garelli Gran Sport LTD Coming Along...

I've been hunting down parts for this 1978 Garelli Gran Sport LTD for about a year now. I have three of these GS LTDs in my collection. This specific model holds a special place in my heart because it is identical to the 1978 GS LTD that I bought brand new in 1978 from Moped Palace in Summit, NJ. I rode that bike all through High School from 1978-1981.

This one has a rebuilt motor, replacement on/off switch, new drive chain, replacement muffler, new pedal arm and pedal and replacement gas tank (thanks RobK!). I still have to install a rear brake cable and top off the tranny with some fresh ND 30 oil and then take her out for a spin. Wish me luck!

garelligsltd.jpg

(edited)

Re: Garelli Gran Sport LTD Coming Along...

Bad Cadillac™ /

Looks great Larry!

I too obtained and restored my very first moped, my Vespa Si. Rode that all over and to my lawn cutting jobs.

Tri-ped Dave O.D.B. /

Gorgeous. Please promise me you will ditch the added on by American Garelli oil "injector". The USA importer stuck those on to make us stupid Americans comfortable with 2 strokes

Looking good, I have my Moby for the same reason. Enjoy!

cool ped Larry

Hey why not start another rally?

Peter Turenne /

I am happy to see another step thru Garelli LTD get put back together and not stripped down and parted out. I really enjoy the ride my Rally Sport LTD provides. I bet this bike is no slouch either. The only thing that would be sweet is to see a storage saddle that the Rally sport has on the grand sport. Great work.

I'm looking for some help. Where can I find ownership manual for my 1980 garelli sport?

I'm having trouble finding good an expanded view for component placement, specifically the coil and "junction box". Also, where can I find original original style switches for the lights/horn and brake lights?