Batavus Clutch Problem

Zachary Price Carpman /

Just picked up a variated batavus ped that I don't know much about. It has a new carb and has plenty of spark the only issue is the starter clutch it seems. When I pull the start lever and go to pedal to start the engine does not engage and or turn over. The starter cable seems plenty tight and the clutch is indeed being pushed in but the engine refuses to turn over! i am new to this type of moped so any help would be great. i might sounds stupid in my description but I hope someone can decipher it. Thanks again.

Re: Batavus Clutch Problem

Zachary Price Carpman /

Couple more details, it was running last year but all the sudden it wouldn't turn over. It is a batavus VA i think its a 1977, double seat, and its sick.

did you seize it? Stupid answer. Will the engine itself turn over.

Zachary Price Carpman /

Yes it will turn itself over definitely not seized just seems to not engage fully almost like it is slipping when i pull the start and pedal

tighten the cable?, i have bat clutch parts but i think they're for the laura 56 not the 48 that your VA has, also.. it's one speed. bummer.

♣Slew Foot♣ /

batavus clutch blowout.

batavussm049.jpg

Zachary Price Carpman /

What could of gone wrong in that clutch? If I take the clutch apart today what should I look for being wrong? Also where the hell can I find a replacement! hah

I have that whole assembly above if you wanna buy it off me for 35 shipped. Its new old stock also have tanks reeds carbs and plastics

I have a cltch too if needed but this may be as simple as the drive belt slipping

If you have the clutch cover, take it off and try to start it. When you pull the starter lever and push the pedal, does the inside of the clutch turn? Probably not, from what you're saying. Is the outside bell of the clutch turning? If so, the clutch may be worn out. If not, the drive belt is slipping. If you need help with that, get back to us.

Zachary Price Carpman /