So i found this Motobecane on craigs list ...

So i found a post on craigs list for a 86 motobecane for a very reasonable price... but it needed an engine and ignition system. It is blue and the engine guard says " 50V MOBYLETTE". How much would it cost to get a diferent motor for it and plug and play? or do i have to hunt a motor down and rebuild it to get this thing running if i make an offer..?

Re: So i found this Motobecane on craigs list ...

Could i consider a complete 86 motobecane rolling chassie a good platform to build a decent moped..? Does it accept a variety of motors or am i limited to what will just bolt up to it and run with minor mods... sprockets, chain length, and such.. that i can do. but i dont want to have to weld motor mounts just yet... not that i couldn't.. but, baby steps....

here is a pic of it

motobecane.jpg

A motobecane will accept a motobecane engine. Learn to weld.

i can weld... i am a fabricator by trade...i could molest any moped enough to get it down the road... time for a frankenstine...

and thats confidence not arogance... no disrespect slowen.

im new to this forum and im sure i will prove my talent as soon as i get a palet to work with. I have been a metal fabricator for over 15 years ... sheet metal and heavy steel welding, aluminum welding, stainless welding, copper fab... i have an idea to make a custome copper tank... but need a platform to start... would this be worthy..? that is the question

im thinking so... no need for a custom tank on this one though.... but i would love to make my own tank out of copper... or stainless... in time.