Quiet pipe for foxi/sparta sachs 504/1a

I was riding my moped around yesterday when my cop neighbor stopped me to check it out. He rode it around for a bit, but warned me about the noise. I live in a quiet suburb filled with a lot of old retired people, and middle aged couples, and some of them like the peace and quiet. I don't really mind the noise, but I'd like to avoid conflict with my neighbors.

Right now, I'm running a dellorto 14.12 with a stock exhaust. I was told that a different air filter can reduce noise, but I also want to get a new pipe that can boost performance without too much noise gain. I'm new to mopeds, so I'm wondering if anybody has any advice on a pipe for my Foxi/Sparta. I can do some welding too if I have to.

Re: Quiet pipe for foxi/sparta sachs 504/1a

Andrew Browning /

Dude thats intake noise. Cannot be solved by exhaust.

You need to either get a decent air filter silencer or just ride legal and tell em all to go away.

Any pipe you put on it is just gonna make it louder on the intake and exhuast.

And, because its a sachs 504 its still gonna be kinda pokey on the bottom end and if your lucky do 33. Which is fine. But whats the point of pissing everyone off in your neighborhood over 3 mph?

I dont know where you live or what your cop neighbors do or say, but I have a cop neighbor and he keeps his nose out of my buisness and I keep mine out of his.

Anyway if your running a del 14:12 and it sounds like its a pissed off vacuum clenaner, either deal with it or put the regular carb and airbobox back on, but your problem aint your pipe dude.

Andrew Browning /

I would just ride legal, and push it a little down the street so your immediate neighbors dont have to listen to you. If your legal, thats all the consideration anyone has to expect.

Tri-ped Dave O.D.B. /

put a garelli airbox on the 14.12 to shut it up