boggin down and new to this

I just went on a ride and the motor bogged down a few times to the point where I had to pedal to keep it running and it died a time or two. Even once while going down hill it ran fine if I let go of the throttle but when I gave it gas I could feel the engine bogging. What could it be? Carburator? Bad fuel oil mix? What? Wanna get an idea before I start ripping stuff apart cause I'm still learning and what takes you an hour could take me a day. Thanks for any help

Re: boggin down and new to this

sounds like air leak.

1. Start moped.

2. Let moped warm up.

3. start spraying the fallowing areas one by one with carb cleaner

-Cylinder (jug) to case

-Cylinder (jug) to head

-Cylinder (jug) to exhaust

-Cylinder (jug) to intake

-Intake to carb

If idle speeds up or ped dies, You found your leak! Check that and report back.

Brad Eadie /

Nathan this will sound bad but what is the cylinder (jug) I was brought up with out any mechanical knowledge and beside small repairs on car this is my first major vehicle project. Bob the petcock has been cleaned and the fuel flow is fine. Unsure if the carb was cleaned or not. Also my wiring is completely shot and I heard that could be an issue too. Thanks so far guys. These forums are very helpful

Okay I see you have a Batavus.the cylinder is what the piston is inside of, it has two parts. see where your spark plug goes? that's your cylinder. But that's the head. the dark cast iron part is the jug.

but yes also check the carb!

fuel starve....

Welcome to mopeds my man, I had a Batavus as my first bike, did the same shit, air leak and spark were my issues.

Brad Eadie /