First Noped and Loving It!

Hi everyone,

I just started riding my very first noped only a few days ago. The bike is a Honda Express NC50, purchased by my Dad new in '78 for my Mom. Well, for various reasons, Mom hardly ever rode it and it was placed in storage almost immediately after it was purchased. 110.5 miles on it to be exact.

Lately Dad started bugging me to take it home and get it out of his house, so a few weeks back I did just that.

Other than normal dirt and grime, the cosmetics of the bike were nice, but the carb was full a varnish, the plug fouled to hell, the air filter element had deteriorated to nothing, a couple of the cables were stuck, most of the light bulbs were burned out, the battery was dead, it was leaking gas all over the place, it was next to impossible to start, and when it did start, it smoked like a bug sprayer and could barely pull itself along at 10 MPH.

Anyway, I've been spending some of my free time over the last few weeks working on repairing and restoring it back to as close to it's original condition as possible, and now I can wind it up and it starts on the first try (almost) every time, accelerates nicely, cruises well at 20 MPH and it will even pull my 220 lb. lard butt along at about 26 MPH.

I just wanted to thank all of the folks here for sharing your knowledge. I could not have gotten this far without the valuable information contained within these forum postings.

FWIW, I've gotten so jazzed with this thing, that I created a slightly silly slideshow presentation to highlight it's near completion. Yeah, I did get a bit carried away, and it is sort of long, but hey, I am really proud of the bike.

If you've got some time, please feel free to take a look.

-Tom

1978_Honda_Express_NC50_1300.jpg
1978_Honda_Express_NC50_1600.jpg

Re: First Noped and Loving It!

That bike looks mint. My first ped was an '80 NC50, loved it so much. Have fun man.

Downhill Harvey (OFMC) /