ITOM has loss of power (See a pic of my new ped)

So several days ago I bought this mid '70"s ITOM (see pic). It test drove well. Drove it at home just a little in the driveway and it seemed to loose power. It eventually didn't stay running. I bought a new spark plug and starting fluid. I got it running fine on the kickstand (smoky exaust though). When I hop on it cuts out.

Any ideas? By the way, I am totally new to mopeds so I don't know anything about what's what or how to repair it. I am however a fast learner and am willing to do the work.

Clint

ITOM.JPG

Re: ITOM has loss of power (See a pic of my new ped)

Beard Road Bruiser (SoB) /

Look up Fred's Guide in the Wiki.

Overpriced Parts /

That is the one that you said that you ran on straight gas instead of premix mixture .

If you or the old owner ran it on straight gas even for a short while your cylinder, piston and maybe bearings are junk .

I worked on several mopeds that had straight gas run in them and the engines were junk. A friend and his wife bought brand new mopeds and didn't know what 25 to 1 and 50 to 1 meant and ran straight gas. I was surprised that they went a few miles and limped them back home. Dealer charged them 300.00 to fix them but that was the early 80s.

Do a compression test and you should be at least 100 psi but

Still any running without 2 stroke oil in the gas means you need to take apart at least the cylinder and look for scoring/damage.

If bad and the other owner did run without oil in the gas then give him the moped back and get your money back or get 200.00 off for repairs

Good to know about the wiki, Beard Road Bruiser.

Ken, thanks for the advise. I'll try those things using Fred's Guide.

Clint

Ken,

Will I need a new head gasket if I take apart the cylinder?

Overpriced Parts /

Yes and base gasket too

Sorry to bother you again, but where do I get parts from? I don't see any ITOM parts from my searches.

Ken stop scaring the guy..