Need help starting my puch!

Justin Lehrer /

Hi, I realize this isn't a very active list, but thought I'd post anyway---I just purchased an '85 Puch (not sure which model), and I'm having some trouble getting it started. I thought it might be user error, as I have no moped experience, but now I'm not sure.

Here's what I do:

1. Pull up choke.

2. Push primer button 4-5 times.

3. Put fuel petcock in on position.

4. While bike is on kickstand (or while I'm pedaling), I pedal and hold clutch in and give it gas.

5. Nothing happens.

Any advice on how I might get this thing running would be greatly appreciated. The guy I purchased from assured me it "starts right up" and he ran it last week. I have added fuel, with a 50:1 mixture of two stroke oil.

thanks!

Justin

Re: Need help starting my puch!

If the motor's turning over,are you sure the spark plug is good.They go dead sometimes.Or the taillight bulb could be blown and that kills the ignition on some bikes.

chuck russo va /

u should read freds how to fix your moped artical it will solve your problem

also, the choke pushes down. it automatically pops up when you give throttle. That could be why :)

InfectedBootSector /

Not an active list? We post lots her eeveryday.

Anyway...

First- Put petcock in on position

Press down choke

prime carb

crank it over

try starting in on the stand... especially if it hasn't run in a while...

make sure your getting spark, gas, and compression...

You should also have a Stop/Run switch on the right handle bar, make sure it is set to "Run".

Also as the others mentioned, you push the choke down for each start attempt. The choke should come up each time you twist the throttle.

I have had my puch for a year and never had a clue that the black button on the carb was a primer. Hahahahaha. I learn something new everyday!

lol...

not an active board.. hehe.. I live on this damn website.

me too ducky!