Friends riding your bike

Christian Levi /

Hey guys,

I'm just getting into this, and loving it. I know it's an opener post and I'm sure I'm a noob, but I didn't see the answer to this in the posts.

I just bought a Puch, and I want to let all of my friends in my household ride it. i.e. my 4 roommates. Is there liability for that? I obviously don't expect them to damage another vehicle, but is there liability for myself if they ride it. Or can I just write up a contract of course saying, they can ride it, but they must be responsible for damages totaling the full value of the bike?

Also, on a quick and separate note. I've seen many seats online, and I'm looking for this one in the file attached, or as close to it as possible, can anyone link me to what exactly it is or where I could find one for sale?

Thanks all, and I look forward to bein' part of the army.

-Christian

puch-maxi-s-11.jpg

Re: Friends riding your bike

That looks like a stock puch seat slammed (spring and hinge removed from the pan) with the foam shaved down. Did the same thing on my Series B.

Letting your friends ride it in CA without the proper license would be bad...unless you want to get it impounded. As far as liability...you need to check with your insurance agent to see what the implications are.

-Curly

Wolf Wizard /

With mopeds, you often just hack and wrench until things work. especially when it comes to aesthetics. Really though, if your friends are honest guys they will pay if they break something.

Cosmo nPuch Stillstolen /

Letting your friends ride your moped is a great way to get rid of both.

Christian Oland Wrote:

-------------------------------------------------------

>I just bought a Puch, and I want to let all of my friends in my household ride it. i.e. my 4 roommates.

you really don't want to do that. it's a motor vehicle, not a Wal-Mart beach cruiser.

friends dont let friends drive mopeds