took it all apart! now what?

I Look Like Shit /

I was in the garage taking off the forks of the Newport to find out why the bolts were so loose. I get the forks off, and I'm like... fuck it. Took the whole ped apart. So here's the dilemma... I have limited knowledge and money, but I'm looking for ideas for what to do. Looking really for some detailed build threads so I can find how other people attacked this. Here are my main questions though:

What should I do while it's apart?

What should I replace? (I'm keeping it stock but I'd like to know what seals/gaskets/etc. should be replaced as basic maintenance).

What's the best way to clean out the tank while its all apart? (I used muriatic acid about two months ago but it is rusty as hell in there again).

How about paint? I'm not interested in powder-coating it, just a shiny blue maybe (cause then I'll paint whatever set of snowflakes I buy orange and I'll have a sweet Mets bike)...

Really just looking for any tips as this is my first time rebuilding a moped... I've tinkered around with old Saabs/Renaults/Volkswagens/etc so I'm sure I can figure out most of this stuff, but of course, there's a lot of impressive work here so I figured I'd ask! Thanks for any help

Re: took it all apart! now what?

Start here Manuals and here Fred's Guide

Good luck, use the search function and the Wiki page.

I Look Like Shit /

Yeah Fred's Guide was how I got it running when I bought it... Everything runs fine with it now, for the most part (except minor things, of course), but I'd like to do everything I need to do to keep it running well and clean... especially while everything is apart.