What would you have done different as a newb?

Michael Dreamboat /

Just wondering if any of you looking back would do anything different when you first got your moped. Looking back does anything strike you as obviously wrong?

Just curious as a newb.

Re: What would you have done different as a newb?

Wish I had known what carb tuning was all about (upjet, downjet, blah blah blah).

Paying someone else to split the case install new bearings and seals and stock 50cc top end on a Kreidler, just to still have a little shifty-shakes.

I would have learned how to do it myself, and done it.

I wish I wouldn't have siezed my first bike (stock vespa).

This is a very cool thread idea, I was a noob in '82? me thinks, prob was my '78 50v was almost new then too! I put thousands of miles on that bike, riding doubles a lot of the time. But I was lean and mean then. 150lbs soaking wet. I guess I never should have sold it, the meat mind I sold it to wrecked it within a week of ownership. It was ok, I hated that kid. I have never gotten into kitting/racing, just like them to run stock. I moved on to some wicked fast motorcycles, and some mellow ones. And cars, I love cars. Never forgot the mopeds though. First legal freedom. Beat the shit out of my very nice letour 10spd! Wish I still had that too! The only maint I ever did to that 50v was 2 brake cables, (broke them both in a panic stop) Lucky to live through that, and one rear tire, oh and having variator greased, there was a dealer near me, they would grease it for free! I ordered a motobecane grease gun through them, but the place burned to the ground before it came. :( Still a hole where that shop was. Grass grows there now. (ins fraud) so says the FD. There were only Motobecanes and Puchs where I lived, and 1 Jawa. The hardware store had 5 lem's! Never sold, collected dust, were eventualy moved to basement, 2 white, 1 blue one red, and one grey. Mags on them, all with no title but cert of origin. Wish I knew what happened t