Batavus Regency as a starter moped?

Hello,

I'm brand new to mopeds and moped culture-- just got my first one the other day (yamaha QT50) and haven't even registered it yet. But I saw a deal on a running 1980 Batavus Regency, and I'm wondering if that's too rare of a bird to learn on instead? Is that going to be too hard to find parts and info, especially for a dude with pretty limited small-engine knowledge? Biting off more than a newbie can chew? At least the QT50 has parts galore... but the Regency looks so fresh.

Thanks for your time and opinions!

-Dan

Re: Batavus Regency as a starter moped?

no groms no blasters /

does it run? test ride it. if it goes fast enough for you and feels right and the price is right, get it.

If it is complete go for it, keep the qt as well, they have their place. Not many Bat performance parts but they are well made if a bit different. Not Moby different, but odd nonetheless.

Call me I'll tell you everything you need to know about them I have three of them. 240-529-6731. You can text too or email Ethan.williams1993@gmail.com

My bat was definitely not a starter moped, but it may be my last.

Thanks for the help, guys! I'm going to try to get more specific info from the seller and then I might have more pointed questions (for you, Ethan).

I appreciate the responses. And this site rules. Its a triumph of what the internet can be... a real collection of knowledge and ideas, not just a pile of cat videos. I've already been lost for a few hours just reading about QT50 tuning.