vespa dead, please help

i dragged my vespa out today and rode it to my office. all was fine; a beautiful warm winter day w/ clear roads and the feeling of mopeding again.

but when i left the office, the vespa wouldn't start. i think the clutch is dead or something like that. the vespa has a dry clutch that engages automatically; you release compression w/ the clutch lever on the left. well, the clutch wasn't engaging at all, so the engine wouldn't turn over. i checked to make sure it was not in bicycle mode ... but it was the clutch.

now i can tell that it's just a wee bit tighter than in bicycle mode (it was easier to pedal/push anyhow). but the clutch is not engaging and letting the engine turn over to get spark. everything seems fine; so i think it's some internal.

however .... i'm still very new to vespa. can anyone help me out here. how do i fix this problem? what do i do? thanks.

Re: vespa dead, please help

The small lever on the left handle bar is the decompression lever and is not part of the clutch system. It's purpose is to relieve some of the compression pressure so it makes it easier to turn the engine when you are trying to start it. If you trace the cable down you will see that it is hooked to a small lever next to the spark plug and opens a small valve in the head.

Need to know what model Vespa you have before we can trouble shoot the clutch problem. The Ciao model came in single and variable speed so each had a slightly different clutch configuration.

Use WD40 on the free wheeling button shaft and push it in and out several times to make sure it is popping out all the way. Pull it out with your fingers to make sure it is out. Then turn the pedals with the bike on the center stand and the rear wheel off the ground. You should hear it the gears click in and engage.

If this doesn't fix it we need to know if you have a singleor varibale speed.