Honda 250 Elite engine compression questions (long

I just got an 85 honda 250 elite and it seems to be severly lacking in engine compression. I'm not a mechanic but I do know a bit about engines and 250 elites (this is my 3rd 250 elite!). I still do not have a repair manual so if anyone has one for sale or knows where I can buy one please email me ASAP don_ny_@hotmail.com

I bought this scooter site/unseen via the internet at a decent price. With 4100 miles it's in very nice cosmetic condition but it doesn't run. I'm not worried about having to tinker on it to get it running. I actually enjoy working on them.

The scooter arrived via fwd air a couple days ago. I picked it up in my truck and then brought it inside my basement to check it out. It had a new battery and when I turned the key on everything electrically related worked ...even the horn! The dashboard clock doesn't work but that's probably a dead watch battery that I can easily replace.

When I set the emergency brake and hit the starter button the engine turned over really quickly and had that "spark plug is missing" sound. I even thought to myself that the previous owner must have taken it out and forgot to put it back in before he put the side panels back on the scooter. I've heard many engines crank over without speark plugs (dads a VW mechanic) so I know the sound. I took all the bodywork off so I could get to the engine easier. I then pulled the carb and fully cleaned it, including the jets. I checked it out and made sure it had gas running through it. I checked the plug and was surprised to see it actually in the head and properly tightened. I took it out and noticed it a good, strong spark. Good to go so far I'm thinking...