vespa help needed

ok ... my vespa grande is down for a bit. here's the scoop ... maybe you vespistas or others can help me out ... i'm new to this type of moped design.

the decompression cable just pooped out on me. luckily, daveb (moped army member) was kind enough to manually hold the decompression down for me while i push started the bike ... so i was able to ride it home. but i can't get it to start on my own ... so repair is in order.

the cable went limp as i started it ... and i'm sure it came out from the engine end. as i traced the wire back, i pulled on it (not too hard), and it came out. also, a small rubber snap of some sort fell out (i still have it). i'm not sure how bad the cable problem is. the cable end does not have a nub so i'm not sure what it would "hook" onto.

how do i fix this? where does the cable go? i will try to get it all working together saturday if possible. luckily my trusty lucia is still up and running like a champ (and i'm sure jealous and rearing to go).

so i'm looking for help on fixing my vespa. any help would be appreciated. i think some motobecane people can help ... i'm all ears.

Re: vespa help needed

Miguel,

The decompression cable is only necessary to kill the engine. It makes it easier when roll starting it, but isn't really necessary. So, you can ride the bike while you figure out how to fix.

Here's what you need to do. The cable comes into the cylinder head fins from under the gas tank. There is a slot in the cylinder head fins where it goes through. Then, the ball on the end of the cable hooks through the hook on the end of the decompression lever. Because it comes in from that side, when you pull on the cable, it pulls the lever down toward the cylinder. If this description is inadequate, let me know and I'll try to get a picture together this weekend of what it is supposed to look like.

Chris S (vespista)