Re: I need a moped!

Steamboat Aka J. R. Stevens /
This single post is part of a larger thread. Start from the top or view this post in context.

North Carolina law defines a moped as a vehicle with two or three wheels with a motor of no more than 50 cubic centimeters of piston displacement and no external shifting device. Legally, a moped's top speed cannot exceed 30 mph. Although some mopeds on the market have top speeds higher than the 30 mph limit, they are illegal for use in North Carolina. Be sure you know a moped’s size and maximum speed before you buy it. Otherwise, you may not be able to operate it legally.

In North Carolina you must be at least 16 years old and wear a helmet to operate a moped on a public roadway or public vehicular area. The same DWI laws that apply to the drivers of other motor vehicles also apply to moped operators. When riding a moped on a public roadway you must follow all the rules

FYI I will post your DMV website shortly. jim

This single post is part of a larger thread. Start from the top or view this post in context.

Want to post in this forum? We'd love to have you join the discussion, but first:

Login or Create Account