Helmets

Rattlznake /

i was wondering if u guys wear helmets?

and if so what kind and what do they look like?

Re: Helmets

I have one, but I don't use it much. It's a standard "open face" model. I've never been stopped in Waco for not having one.

well Im in the UK so I have to wear a helmet...

Its just plain black.. Vemar.. full face with visor..

i don't wear one (not required in michigan).

Barbara Perkins /

Just bought a black metallic DOT "shortie" (1/2 helmet- don't like my ears covered.) Don't have to wear one in Missouri, however I don't want my head to end up looking like a smashed pumpkin if I wreck! I'm a Registered Nurse so I know all too well how that can be. Plus my husband & I have to set the example for our 3 children! : ) B

Rich King /

Likewise, I wear one too. I've seen too many accidents in states that do not have helmet laws for either motorcycles or Mopeds. Here in northern VA, we do not have the option like the rest of the state, local ordances require a helmet. I wear an open faced one. When it is chilly or rain is forcast I carry a clear snap-on faceshield.

Just a word to the wise, in the spring in my area a Dude (22 yrs old) stole a Moped and tried to escape the police in a "low speed chase", he was wearing a helmet (presumeable he stole along with the Moped) but he failed to buckle it. Anyway to make a long story short he wrecked while rounding a curve, the helmet fell off when he hit the ground and he was killed when he hit the opposite curb. I've been thru that curve, it is not difficult and appears survivable if you were to crash. So.. If you wear a helmet, 1, makes sure it fits correctly,; and 2, buckle it up. Ok no more soap boxing

Rich - still geezin along on his PED