My moped being a piece of shit

About my previous post about my engine being jumpy and shit like that, My friend and I cleaned the carb today, there was a ton of gunk and crap in it, it starts a lot better and on one try, but I'm not getting the speed, and it stalls when im idling and when im accelerating I can feel the engine jumping, anybody know what could be doing this. We also cleaned the fuel line and the inline filters.

Re: My moped being a piece of shit

Nick, did you make sure to clean out the main jet when you cleaned the carb? It would most likely have to have been removed from the body of the carb itself to be cleaned out properly. If the bowl was full of crap, you can bet the main jet was and might still be... If you did clean it, what about your airfilter? Is it clean?

i'm no moped expert, but I used to have a mini-bike and sometimes my engine would jump while accelerating as well. Something is loose. You need to tighten either the air or oil filter so that the gas gets an even mixture of oxygen and gas in order to burn or combust correctly. Right now, it is getting different amounts at different times so it jumps.

I don't think its the air filter, but my moped is the 25mph version, and I would say its not even going 15. Does anyone think I should get a new spark plug, would that really do anything? Well I getting sick of this shit so I'll probably just take to the local moped guy. About the main jet, I believe my friend cleaned that, but I will check later.

Ron Brown /

Nick.

Look for this post:

Author: Ron Brown (---.ismi.net)

Date: 07-20-01 11:58

It is quite long so I do not want to repeat it.

I would recommend that you do not drill the carb because of the problems with the throttle slide, but the rest of it may give you some ideas. Mostly, I suspect that you have not really cleaned the carb well enough. Remove the main jet from the holder and examine both with good light and a good magnifier to make sure you have no crud left in them.

Ron