77 Motobecane, seized & how to start?

I just got my first moped dumped into my lap. It's a 77 Motobecane and looks to be in cosmetically good shape. However they said the engine was seized. From what I understand, sometimes this is a survivable situation. Ideas? PB Blaster?

Also, what is the procedure for using/starting/stopping the engine on this unit? Someone I know had a tomos that you would pedal backwards to start, but I think it's different for this moped.

On the 77 motobecane, there is what I think is the clutch on the left side with the belt around it. I assume the center is supposed to be turnable? Now, in almost the same position on the RIGHT side is another round item with a square hole... what is it and should it turn?

Any/all info would be very helpful. I'm a beginner with mopeds but I'm a quick learner.

Thanks!

--Brewster

Re: 77 Motobecane, seized & how to start?

Ray Sanders /

Okay, I have a '78 Mobylette 50V that had the same problem.

Remove the spark plug (you may have to remove the long bolt that holds the engine in the mounts to lower the engine far enough)

Spray in some WD-40 and let it sit for a couple of hours.

Remove the chain guards (the white panels on each side of the bike, held in with three flat head screws)

On the other side of your engine (opposite the drive belt) there is a plastic bellhousing, it's held on with three rubber clips. pull the plastic bellhousing, and you'll have something better to use to turn the engine over. Turn towards the front of the bike only. You can wiggle front and back a little, but try not to turn the engine over backwards. If it won't turn, spray in more wd-40 and repeat the procedure.

You may want to clean out the fuel tank if the bike has sat for a while, and the carb may be gummed up. If you can get the engine unstuck, fuel it up (mix 3.6 -4 ounces of 2 cycle oil to 1 gallon of gas) turn the fuel valve to "run" , and turn the ignition switch to on. (same as the horn button)