Moped Laws: Northeast

From Moped Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search


Laws for legal moped usage vary by state in America. You may be able to find information on your state's transportation website but the following are likely to be more useful as some states make it hard to find moped related information.

Connecticut

On October 1, 2008, there were changes in the law that may affect whether you must register your scooter, moped or other motorbike as a motorcycle.

Motor Driven Cycles: If you have a motor scooter, moped or motorbike having a motor that produces 5 brake horsepower or less (or 3.7 kW or less) and a seat height of at least 26 inches, you may operate it on the roadway without registering it. However, you must have a valid motor vehicle operator’s license to operate it, and you may not operate it on any sidewalk, limited access highway or turnpike. If the maximum speed of your cycle is less than the speed limit of the road that you are on, you must operate in the right hand lane available for traffic or upon a usable shoulder on the right side of the road unless you are making a left turn. As of October 1, 2008, these vehicles are referred to as “motor driven cycles.”

Motorcycles: Any two or three wheeled motor vehicle (that does not have a driver’s seat that is enclosed or designed to be enclosed) that produces more than 5 brake horsepower (or more than 3.7 kW) must be registered as a motorcycle. You may be asked to present proof of your motorcycle’s horsepower (or metric power) if it is not apparent from the certificate of origin or other registration documents. This information is available from the motorcycle’s manufacturer. You must obtain an M endorsement on your driver’s license in order to operate a motorcycle. In order to obtain the endorsement, you will be required to pass a written test and a driving test to demonstrate that you are proficient in your knowledge and operation of a motorcycle.

Link to CTDMV website: http://www.ct.gov/dmv/cwp/view.asp?a=810&q=430480


NOTES: According to the changes for 2008, you can have a moped with a manual transmission and clutch, and it can be larger than 49cc as long as it makes 5bhp or less.




OLD LAWS-----

Moped Definition

  • Top speed may not exceed 30mph
  • Must have an automatic transmission
  • Seat height must be at or above 26"

Licensing, Registration, and Insurance

  • Must have valid drivers license
  • No registration required under 50cc
  • No insurance required under 50cc
  • No inspection required under 50cc

Rules and Regulations

  • Eye protection must be worn

Delaware

Moped Definition

  • Pedal or nonpedal bicycle having 2 wheels larger than 10" in diameter
  • Displacement under 55 cc
  • Rated at no more than 2.7bhp
  • Top speed no greater than 25 mph

Licensing, Registration, and Insurance

  • Operator must have valid driver's license in his/her possession while riding
  • Must be registered with DE DMV -- costs $5 for 3 years
  • Mopeds must be titled

Rules and Regulations

  • May not be used on limited-access highways
  • May not use bicycle paths/trails except when motor turned off
  • When using bicycle paths, bicycle regulations apply
  • Must have lights front and rear and a bell/horn

[1]

Maine

Moped Definition

  • A moped is a vehicle with not less than 2 brake horsepower.
  • A moped does not exceed 50 ccs and cannot exceed 30 miles per hour on a flat surface.
  • A moped is equipped with a power drive system that functions automatically and does not require shifting.
  • A moped may or may not have foot pedals

Licensing, Registration, and Insurance

  • You must have an operator's license, motorcycle, motor-driven cycle or moped endorsement/restriction to operate all scooters and mopeds on a public way.
  • All mopeds and many scooters must be registered.
  • Liability Insurance is required

Rules and Regulations

  • A moped must be operated single file and as far to the right at all times, except when turning left.
  • Operator of a moped must obey all other traffic laws.

Massachusetts

Moped Definition According to Massachusetts law, a moped is a "motorized bicycle." In order to be classified as a moped, the vehicle must:

  • Have a cylinder capacity of no more than 50 cubic centimeters.
  • Have an automatic transmission.
  • Be capable of a maximum speed of no more than 30 miles per hour.
  • Comply with all applicable federal motor vehicle safety standards.

Licensing and Registration

  • A moped sticker, issued by the RMV, must be affixed to the moped. This sticker will not be issued unless the vehicle meets the above requirements.
  • When stamped with the Registrar's stamp, the registration form becomes the moped's registration. The operator must carry his/her registration and license/learner's permit whenever operating that moped.
  • Mopeds will not be operated:
    • By any person under 16 years of age.
    • By any person who does not have a valid license or permit.
    • At a speed greater than 25 miles per hour.

Rules and Regulations
Operating Requirements:

  • Moped operators are subject to the traffic laws, rules and regulations of the Commonwealth.
  • Mopeds will have the right to use all public ways in the Commonwealth, except limited access or express state highways where signs prohibiting bicycles have been posted.
  • Mopeds may use bicycle lanes next to various ways but are excluded from off street recreational paths.
  • Moped operators must signal their intention to stop or turn by using either hand.
  • Mopeds may keep right when passing a motor vehicle which is in the travel lane of a way.
  • The operator and any passenger must wear a DOT standard helmet.

Taken from Massachusetts RMV moped page and Massachusetts RMV Motorized Bicycle (Moped) Registration Form.


Noise Pollution Restrictions

As of late, several people in the Boston area have been cited for 'faulty mufflers', but based on the following legal passages it seems that these accusations are unfounded, as there appears to be no legal restrictions for motorized bicycle exhaust systems.

  • Massachusetts General Laws: Part 1, Title 14, Chapter 90, Section 1 (Definitions)
    • The definition of "Motor vehicles" shall not include motorized bicycles.
  • City of Boston Municipal Code: Chapter 16, Section 47
    • No person shall sell, offer for sale, or install on or in any motor vehicle or trailer: (a) a muffler from which the baffle plates, screens, or other original internal parts have been removed and not replaced; (b) an exhaust system which has been modified in a manner which will result in an amplification or an increase in the noise emitted by the exhaust system; or (c) a muffler cut-out or by-pass.
  • Massachusetts General Laws: Part 1, Title 14, Chapter 90, Section 16
    • No person shall use a muffler cut-out or by-pass. No person shall operate a motor vehicle on any way which motor vehicle is equipped (1) with a muffler from which the baffle plates, screens or other original internal parts have been removed and not replaced; or (2) with an exhaust system which has been modified in a manner which will amplify or increase the noise emitted by the exhaust.
  • Massachusetts General Laws: Part 1, Title 14, Chapter 90, Section 7U
    • No person shall operate a motorcycle intended for use on the highways of the commonwealth and registered under the provisions of section two of chapter ninety at any time or under any condition of grade, load, acceleration or deceleration in such a manner as to exceed eighty-two decibels when operated within a speed zone of forty-five miles per hour or less, or in such a manner as to exceed eighty-six decibels when operated within a speed zone of over forty-five miles per hour measured at fifty feet using the prescribed highway vehicle sound level measurement procedure.
    • No person shall operate a motorcycle intended for use off the highways of the commonwealth and registered under the provisions of section twenty-two of chapter ninety B at any time that exceeds one hundred and three decibels measured at twenty inches, or one-half meter, using the prescribed stationary vehicle sound level measurement procedure. For enforcement purposes a tolerance of plus two decibels shall be applied to all measured sound levels of in-use vehicles to provide for variances in equipment calibration, measurement site characteristics and measurement techniques.

New Hampshire

259:57 Moped. – Moped shall mean a motor-driven cycle whose speed attainable in one mile is 30 miles per hour or less which is equipped with a motor that produces 2 brake horse power or less; if an internal combustion engine is used, the piston displacement shall not exceed 50 cubic centimeters and the power-drive system shall not require the operator to shift gears. Source. RSA 259:1, XIII-a. 1976, 4:4. 1977, 272:1. 1981, 146:1. 1983, 147:1, eff. Aug. 6, 1983.

263:33 Driving Mopeds. – No person may drive a moped upon any way in this state unless he holds a current valid driver's license issued by any state, a special motorcycle license issued pursuant to RSA 263:31 or a special moped license. A person who holds a special moped license may drive any moped without holding any other class of driver's license. Source. RSA 261:11-b. 1976, 4:13. 1979, 11:1. 1981, 146:1; 301:1; 301:4, eff. Jan. 1, 1982, at 12:01 a.m.

263:33-a Special Moped Licenses; Driving Mopeds. – The department shall cause to be issued a special license for persons without a driver's license or special motorcycle license for all applicants who successfully complete the requirements for a moped license. Applicants for such license shall be required to pass a written examination prepared by the director. No person shall drive a moped on a way of this state unless such person possesses a driver's license or special motorcycle license or is duly licensed to drive a moped by a special moped license issued under this section. No person shall knowingly authorize or allow the driving of a moped owned by him or in his charge on a way of this state by any person who does not hold a driver's license, a special motorcycle license or a special moped license. Source. 1981, 301:5, eff. Jan. 1, 1982, at 12:01 a.m.

265:152 Bicycle Parking(Moped Applicable) . –

I. A person may park a bicycle on a sidewalk unless prohibited or restricted by an official traffic control device.
II. A bicycle parked on a sidewalk shall not impede the normal and reasonable movement of pedestrian or other traffic.
III. A person shall not park a bicycle on a roadway in such a manner as to obstruct the movement of a legally parked motor vehicle.
IV. In all other respects, bicycles parked on a way shall conform with provisions of law regulating the parking of vehicles.

Source. 1981, 422:14, eff. Jan. 1, 1982, at 12:01 a.m.

266:86 Headlamp Required at Night. – Every bicycle operated upon any way during darkness shall be equipped with a lamp emitting a white light visible from a distance of 300 feet in front of the bicycle and with a red reflector on the rear of a type approved by the director, which shall be visible from a distance of 300 feet to the rear when directly in front of the lawful upper beams of headlamps on a motor vehicle. A lamp emitting a red light visible from 300 feet to the rear may be used in addition to the red reflector. Every moped driven upon any way during darkness shall be equipped with one headlamp which meets the specifications for headlamps established in RSA 266:31. Taillamps and stop lamps are required on mopeds. Source. RSA 250:11-d. 1971, 319:1. 1981, 146:1, eff. Jan. 1, 1982; 479:57, eff. Jan. 1, 1982, at 12:01 a.m.

266:88 Brake Required. – Every bicycle and moped shall be equipped with a brake or brakes which will enable its driver to stop the bicycle or moped within 25 feet from a speed of 10 miles per hour on dry, level, clean pavement. Source. RSA 250:11-a. 1971, 319:1. 1981, 146:1, eff. Jan. 1, 1982; 479:57, eff. Jan. 1, 1982, at 12:01 a.m.

266:89 Sirens Prohibited. – No bicycle or moped shall be equipped with a siren, nor shall any person on a bicycle or moped use a siren. Source. 1981, 479:57, eff. Jan. 1, 1982, at 12:01 a.m.

New Jersey

Motorized bicycle (moped) license

A moped (motorized bicycle) is defined by law as a pedal bicycle with a "helper-motor" capable of a maximum speed of no more than 25 miles per hour on a flat surface. A moped has a maximum displacement of less than 50 cubic centimeters (no more than 1.5 brake horsepower).

How to get a moped license:

  • You must be at least 15 years old .
  • Visit an MVC Agency to complete an application for a moped permit.
  • Pass the 6 Point ID Verification.
  • Pay $5 examination permit fee.
  • Pass the knowledge and vision tests to validate your permit. Study by reading the Driver Manual and Motorcycle Manual [524k pdf]
  • You must practice with a permit for at least 20 days before being eligible to take the road test
  • If you pass the road test, take your permit, ride slip and score sheet to an MVC Agency to receive your license and pay the $6 license fee.

Possible reasons you can fail the road test:

  • You lack the equipment required by state regulations.
  • Have no helmet.
  • Have unapproved goggles or face shield.
  • Your horn cannot be heard from at least 100 feet away.

Moped license information

New Jersey moped manual

New York

Moped class determined by range of top speed:

Class A Mopeds

  • Mopeds over 30mph to 40mph
  • Class M/MJ license required
  • Headlight must be on at all times when operating
  • Insurance required
  • Registration required
  • Helmet & eye protection required
  • May operate on any traffic lane
  • Inspection required
  • No title required

Class B Mopeds

  • Over 20mph to 30mph
  • Any class license
  • Registration required
  • Headlight must be on at all times when operating
  • Helmet and eye protection required
  • May operate on Right-Hand lane or Shoulder only
  • Insurance required
  • No inspection required
  • No title required

Class C Mopeds

  • 20mph or less
  • Any class license
  • Registration required
  • Headlight must be on at all times when operating
  • No helmet and eye protection required
  • May operate on Right-hand lane or Shoulder only
  • No insurance required
  • No inspection required
  • No title required


On August 12, 2010 Dave Seley spoke with the New York Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) supervisor 'Shirley' in the Albany District Office (1-518-473-5595). After much explanation on his part, she agreed with his argument that New York must honor Massachusetts registrations including mopeds. She advised him to fax the NYDMV legal department so they can fax him back something in writing to carry so as not to get ticketed by an officer who does not know the federal law regarding interstate registration reciprocity. She confirmed the requirements for mopeds in the Polk, the book the cops use. The initial fax by Dave may be seen here and their response may be seen here.


 S 2260. General  provisions.  Except  as  otherwise expressly provided
 herein, all of the provisions of this chapter shall apply to  a  limited
 use  vehicle in the same manner as if such vehicle was not a limited use
 vehicle.
 S 2261.  Registration.  1.  Except  as  hereinafter provided, no person
 shall operate any limited use vehicle on  a  public  highway  or  street
 within this state unless such limited use vehicle has been registered in
 accordance with the provisions of this article, and the registration for
 such   limited  use  vehicle  is  in  full  force  and  effect  and  the
 registration  number  plate  or  plates  are  displayed  as  hereinafter
 provided.
   2. A certificate of registration issued pursuant to this article shall
 indicate  that the registration is limited to use as provided in section
 twenty-two  hundred  sixty-two  of  this  chapter.  No  application  for
 registration  shall be accepted unless the applicant is at least sixteen
 years of age.
   3. Fees. (a) The fees for the registration, renewal, reregistration or
 amendment or duplicate of a registration of  a  limited  use  automobile
 shall  be  the  same fees as if such vehicle were registered pursuant to
 section four hundred one of this chapter.
   (b) The annual fee for the registration,  renewal,  reregistration  or
 amendment  or  duplicate  of  a registration of a limited use motorcycle
 shall be six dollars and twenty-five cents. Any such  registration  will
 commence and expire on dates to be determined by the commissioner. A fee
 for  a  registration for periods of more or less than one year shall not
 be prorated.
   4. Carrying certificate. Every person operating a limited use  vehicle
 registered  in  accordance  with  any of the provisions of this article,
 shall, upon the demand of any magistrate, police officer, peace officer,
 when acting pursuant to his special duties,  or  motor  vehicle  hearing
 officer  produce for inspection the certificate of registration for such
 limited use vehicle and shall furnish to  such  person  any  information
 necessary  for  the  identification  of such limited use vehicle and its
 owner. The  failure  to  produce  the  certificate  of  registration  as
 provided  herein  shall  not  be  an  offense,  but shall be presumptive
 evidence of operating a limited use vehicle which is not  registered  as
 required by this article.
   5.  Out-of-state  limited  use  vehicle registration. The registration
 provisions of this article shall not apply to  a  non-resident  who  has
 registered  his  limited use vehicle in compliance with the registration
 or licensing laws of the state, province or country  of  his  residence,
 provided  that  the limited use vehicle so registered in accordance with
 the laws of the state, province or country of residence of such owner is
 appropriately identified by an identification plate,  sticker  or  other
 identifying device issued by such state, province or country.
 S 2262. Limitations  on  registrations.  1. A registration issued to a
 class B or class C limited  use  motorcycle  shall  be  valid  only  for
 operation  on  public  highways  in  the  right  hand lane available for
 traffic or upon a usable shoulder on the right side of the highway.  The
 limitation  with  respect  to operation in the right hand lane or upon a
 usable shoulder shall not apply when preparing for a  left  turn  at  an
 intersection or into or from a private road or driveway.
   2.  Notwithstanding  the  foregoing  provisions  of  this  section,  a
 registration issued pursuant to this article  shall  not  be  valid  for
 operation  on  any  public  highway  in  violation of any state or local
 ordinance, law, rule or regulation enacted or  promulgated  pursuant  to
 the  provisions of Title VIII of this chapter prohibiting or restricting
 the use of limited use vehicles, nor on any  controlled  access  highway
 other  than on a bridge or tunnel or other portion of such highway which
 is specifically designated for  use  by  limited  use  vehicles  by  the
 authority having jurisdiction over such bridge or tunnel or highway.
   3.  No  person shall operate a limited use vehicle on a public highway
 where such operation is not permitted in accordance with the  provisions
 of this section.
   4. No person shall operate a low speed vehicle on any public highway:
   (a)  with  a  speed  limit  in  excess  of thirty-five miles per hour,
 provided that the provisions of this paragraph shall  not  prohibit  the
 crossing of a public highway with a speed limit in excess of thirty-five
 miles per hour where such highway intersects with a highway with a speed
 limit of thirty-five miles per hour or less; or
   (b)  which, in the interest of public safety, a local authority or the
 department of transportation has prohibited low speed vehicles.
   S 2263. Revocation  and  suspension.  In  addition  to  revocation  or
 suspension of a registration pursuant to any  other  provision  of  this
 chapter,  all  registrations  issued  to  a  registrant pursuant to this
 article may be revoked where the holder is  convicted  of  a  second  or
 subsequent  violation  committed  within  a  period  of twelve months of
 subdivision three  of  section  twenty-two  hundred  sixty-two  of  this
 chapter.  Where  a revocation is issued pursuant to this section, no new
 limited use vehicle registration shall be issued to such  person  for  a
 period of one year from the date of such revocation.
S 2264. Display  of  registration  number  plate  or  plates.  1.  The
 registration number plate or plates assigned to a  limited  use  vehicle
 shall  be displayed on the vehicle at all times such vehicle is operated
 on the public highways in  such  manner  as  the  commissioner  may,  be
 regulation,  prescribe. One registration number plate shall be issued by
 the commissioner for a limited use motorcycle. One or  two  registration
 number plates, as determined by the commissioner, shall be issued by the
 commissioner  for  a  limited  use  automobile. No number other than the
 registration number plate assigned to  a  limited  use  vehicle  by  the
 commissioner, or the identification number of the registration issued by
 another  state  shall  be  painted, attached or otherwise displayed on a
 limited use vehicle when such vehicle is  being  operated  on  a  public
 highway.  Nothing  herein  shall  prohibit  the  display  of  a  vehicle
 identification number plate or number affixed by the manufacturer or his
 agent in accordance with section twenty-two hundred sixty-seven of  this
 chapter.
   2. Dealer demonstrator number plates shall conform to the requirements
 set  forth  in  subdivision  one of this section with the exception that
 such number plates may be temporarily but firmly affixed to the  limited
 use vehicle being demonstrated or tested.
   3.  The  use  of dealer demonstrator number plates shall be subject to
 the provisions of sections four hundred fifteen and four hundred sixteen
 of this chapter.
   4. No dealer shall permit a dealer demonstrator  number  plate  to  be
 used  on  any vehicle unless such vehicle would qualify for the issuance
 of such a number plate when registered.
   S 2265. Equipment,  inspection  and  insurance. 1. Equipment.   Unless
 otherwise prescribed by regulation of the commissioner,  a  limited  use
 automobile  shall  be  subject  to  the  equipment  requirements of this
 chapter which are  applicable  to  a  passenger  motor  vehicle.  Unless
 otherwise  prescribed  by  regulation of the commissioner, a limited use
 motorcycle shall be subject to  the  equipment  requirements  which  are
 applicable  to  a motorcycle.   The operator of a limited use motorcycle
 shall be subject to the requirements of subdivisions six  and  seven  of
 section  three  hundred  eighty-one  of  this  chapter,  except that the
 requirements of subdivisions six and  seven  of  section  three  hundred
 eighty-one  of this chapter shall not be applicable to the operator of a
 class C limited use motorcycle. The  commissioner  may,  by  regulation,
 provide  for  different  equipment requirements for different classes of
 limited use motorcycles.  As far as practicable,  such  regulations,  if
 promulgated  by the commissioner, shall be consistent with federal motor
 vehicle safety standards established for  similar  vehicles.  No  person
 shall operate a limited use vehicle on the public highways of this state
 in   violation   of  the  provisions  of  this  section  or  regulations
 promulgated by the commissioner thereunder.
   2. Inspection. (a) Limited use automobiles and  class  A  limited  use
 motorcycles  shall  be subject to the inspection requirements of article
 five of this chapter. The commissioner may, by regulation,  provide  for
 different  inspection  procedures  for  different  types  of limited use
 automobiles.
   (b) Class B and class C limited use motorcycles shall be  exempt  from
 any inspection requirements.
   3.  Insurance. The provisions of articles six, seven and eight of this
 chapter shall be applicable to limited use  vehicles,  except  that  the
 provisions  of  article  six  of this chapter shall not apply to class C
 limited use motorcycles.
 S 2267. Dealers  and  manufacturers.  1. No person shall engage in the
 business of selling limited use vehicles unless there  shall  have  been
 issued  to  him  a  dealer  registration in accordance with section four
 hundred fifteen of this chapter. The commissioner  may,  by  regulation,
 provide  for  identification  of  dealers  as  dealers  in  limited  use
 vehicles, and he shall make provision for the  issuance  of  appropriate
 dealer demonstrator number plates to such dealers.
   2.  No dealer shall acquire any limited use vehicle for the purpose of
 resale for use on the public highways  within  this  state  unless  such
 limited  use  vehicle  has a vehicle identification number in a form and
 manner acceptable to the commissioner permanently affixed to  the  frame
 by the manufacturer or authorized agent of the manufacturer.
   3.  The  commissioner  may  prescribe, by regulation, procedures to be
 followed by  dealers  with  respect  to  record  keeping  and  documents
 required  upon  the  sale of a limited use vehicle, and procedures to be
 followed by manufacturers with respect to the assignment and affixing of
 vehicle identification numbers.
 S 2268. Motor-assisted vehicle. Notwithstanding any other provision of
 this  chapter,  a vehicle which is primarily designed to be propelled by
 human power shall not be entitled  to  registration  as  a  limited  use
 vehicle  because  of  the  addition  of  a motor. The commissioner shall
 determine whether any vehicle is primarily designed to be  propelled  by
 human power.
 S 2269. Exemptions.  1.  Fire  and police vehicles are exempt from the
 provisions of this article, except that the operator of such  a  vehicle
 shall be required to be licensed as provided in article nineteen of this
 chapter.
   2.  Any  limited use vehicle registered pursuant to this article which
 would be exempt from the payment of registration fees  if  such  vehicle
 were  to  be registered pursuant to title four of this chapter, shall be
 exempt from the payment of registration fees under this article.
S 2270. Rules and regulations. The commissioner is hereby empowered to
 make  such  rules  and regulations as he may deem necessary to carry out
 the provisions of this article, including procedures with respect to the
 certification of maximum performance speed of limited use vehicles.


See: How to Register a Moped in New York

Pennsylvania

  • Class C (car) required on Driver’s License.
  • Insurance is required.
  • Annual registration fee is $9.00.
  • A title is required for registration - What - you don't have one?
  • Moped plate issued.
  • No helmet or eye protection required for driver.
  • Does not require inspection.
  • Design speed may not be more than 25 miles per hour.
  • Engine may not exceed 50 cubic centimeters.
  • Engine may not exceed 1.5 brake horsepower rating.
  • Operable pedals are now required (see Note, below).
  • Automatic transmission required.
  • An electric motor-driven-cycle equipped with operable pedals and powered by an electric battery is defined as a moped also.

Note: Mopeds such as a Honda Express can be registered as mopeds as long as you have an original title that lists the Body Type as "Moped." A new, sub-50cc scooter cannot be registered as a moped.

Out of state riders whose home state does not require registration (Maryland, for example) should be allowed to ride legally in PA so long as they are in compliance with their home state's laws. For more information, please see this pdf document.

Rhode Island

31-3-2.1 states that "Out-of-state residents owning motorized bicycles, whose state of residence does not require the registration of those vehicles, shall register the vehicles in the state of Rhode Island and upon payment of the registration fee shall be issued stickers to be placed on the vehicle evidencing registration." It is not clear as to whether or not the state expects one to register in advance. If this were the case, it could be a violation of federal law.

I spoke with the RI DMV enforcement department on 03/30/2011 regarding this matter and was told that the issue is not the plate, but the insurance. In other words, if you can prove you are registered in Massachusetts or another plate-less state (carry the paperwork that came with your sticker) and can show that you are insured, the state of RI will be happy. I am in the process of contacting the representatives from the registration department to discuss how the 'full faith and credit' clause of the Constitution affects their laws. ..

Vermont

Definition is 50cc. License required. Registration required. Insurance required. Inspection required-horn, lights, front fender, no cracked tires. Vermont no longer has moped plates. Under new law all mopeds and scooters (with or without pedals) 50cc or less receive motor driven cycle (MDC) plates.

from the official Vermont DMV website as of 4/1/2014

Mopeds Defined

To register your bike as a moped/motor-driven cycle, it must meet adhere to the following: Cannot exceed over 30 mph on a level surface. Engine must operate without a need for clutching or shifting. Cannot possess an engine larger than 50 cubic centimeters. Restricted to 2 or 3 wheels. Unlike motorcycles, wearing a helmet is not required.

U.S. Moped Laws by region
Northeast CTDEMEMANHNJNYPARIVT
South ALFLGAKYMDNCSCTNTXVA
Midwest IllinoisIowaKansasMichiganMinnesotaMissouriOhioSouth DakotaWisconsin
West ArizonaCaliforniaColoradoHawai'iMontanaNevadaNew MexicoOregonUtahWashington